The Pundit is starting to get a familiar feeling, especially after the surprising Cardinals victory…

Take a trip down Memory Lane with me for a second. (Editor’s note: Which I’m fairly certain is in Florida somewhere. Maybe Palm Beach.) I want you to go back to the NLDS,  Phillies vs. Brewers. I think that was a series we all were fairly confident the Phils would win. It wasn’t a guarantee, but it would have been surprising, and pretty friggin’ disappointing, had we lost it. Problem was, even if we won, we were still going to have to face the Cubs – oh, those formidable Cubs – if we wanted to get to the World Series. (Editor’s note: Lions and tigers and…cubs. Oh, brother).

And then a funny, unexpected thing happened: the Dodgers beat them.

"Are you super excited about getting romped by the Phillies? 'Cuz I am. We should probably hug. Get in here for the real thing."

"Are you super excited about getting romped by the Phillies in the NLCS? 'Cuz I am. We should probably hug. Come in here for the real thing, buddy."

And I think that was a relief to many Phillies fans. Despite the fact that the Dodgers were obviously the hotter team, I think, deep down, we all still thought the Cubs were the better team. Now, when people asked me which team I would rather see the Phillies face, I would jokingly say, “Whichever team loses.” But truthfully, I wanted nothing to do with the Cubs. Sure, the Dodgers were red-hot, and Manny Ramirez was on a tear that was downright frightening. But the Cubs were stacked, and if they got hot, they seemed unbeatable.

Luckily, the Dodgers never gave them the chance to get hot. And the Phillies didn’t have to worry about them.

Which brings me to the Cardinals. I don’t know about you, but I didn’t want anything to do with the Panthers. Should the Eagles beat the Giants, that is. Sure, the Cardinals are hot right now. But wouldn’t you rather face a hot Cardinals team than the Panthers? I sure would. I don’t know why, but I just think we match up better with the Cardinals than we do with the Panthers. And I don’t think it’s because the the Eagles squashed them on Thanksgiving – I just think it’s a personnel thing. (Editor’s note: He always makes it personnel).

Now, I don’t want to get ahead of myself. The Eagles need to go out and handle their business. But when I came home and saw that the Cardinals had knocked off the Panthers, I got me some déjà vu. I got the slightest tinge of that beautiful feeling I had when the Phillies made their run – the strange sensation that, for once, the universe was on our side.

Space - the final frontier...

Space - the final frontier...

And now, I’ve probably jinxed the whole damn thing. But, should the Eagles beat the Giants, you can’t tell me the Eagles won’t be the favorite in that game. You can’t tell me you’re not feeling pretty confident about that match-up.

And you can’t tell me you won’t be getting some of that déjà vu…

2 Comments

Filed under Eagles, NFL

2 responses to “The Pundit is starting to get a familiar feeling, especially after the surprising Cardinals victory…

  1. I have a side project blog that I’m looking to get more exposure and I’ve just added a co-author that’s going to help me keep it fresh daily. If you could just exchange links with us that would be great. Let me know and I’ll return the favor pronto.

    More Hardball @ http://morehardball.blogspot.com

    email- morehardball@hotmail.com

  2. It is definitely an eerie feeling, for sure. I think now with the Eagles winning, they gotta be an early favorite, due to, as you mentioned, the earlier squashing on Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

