Fear the flex schedule: Determining when the Eagles will play the Cowboys next week, and why The Pundit is agonizing over it…

Before I get assaulted for assuming an Eagles victory this weekend against the Redskins, let me preface this post: the Redskins may be in turmoil, but this is an NFC East rivalry game. These teams don’t have much love for one another. The Redskins are still a pretty good team, and they want to salvage some respect. By no means is this game a given.

But, assuming the Eagles do win, the damn flex schedule for the following week has only added to the drama at the close of the regular season. And it’s killing me.

Alright, a theoretical situation: let’s pretend like your buddy in New York got his hands on Jets vs. Dolphins tickets for the last week of the season. Which likely will be for the division. Which might be the last game Brett Favre ever plays. Until next year, at least. (Editor’s note: Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me every single season? Screw you, man).

That’s a gimme, right? I mean, you have to take that ticket, right?

Well, not so fast – the Eagles could be playing the Cowboys with a playoff spot on the line that same Sunday. Um, that’s a huge game, one of the biggest regular season games, well, ever in this town.

Shit.

Now, without the flex scheduling, you could figure out a plan to get both of these events in, or you would just bite the bullet and miss one. But if you knew, ahead of time, that one of the games was at one, and the other was the Sunday night game at eight, you could catch one, catch a bus, catch the other, and have one of the truly great Sundays in fan history. I mean, could that day possibly be topped?

Really, this only marginally connects to this post, but how could I not put this up? I mean, that's just awesome!

Really, this only marginally connects to this post, but how could I not put this up? I mean, that's just awesome!

But without knowing, how can you plan for such an event?

As of now, each of these games are planned for one. Not a chance that happens. Let’s assume that the Eagles, Cowboys, Dolphins and Jets all win this week, and either the Falcons or Bucs lose. If you are NBC, you are taking Eagles vs. Cowboys, right? I know that Madden is a Brett Favre enthusiast (Editor’s note: Understatement of the millennium), but any Eagles/Cowboys game is a ratings dream, and with the stakes so high, NBC would be crazy not to broadcast it. And if the Jets/Dolphins game stays at one, which it might, because a potential division-decider might take place at four between Denver and San Diego, you could potentially watch the Jets/Dolphins in New York, grab the bus, and get back in time to watch the Eagles that night. Sure, you’ll miss a great day of tailgating in Philly, but hell, something is going to be sacrificed, and there will be plenty of tailgates to come.

Flex Gods, hear my prayers. May either the Bucs or Falcons stumble. May the Broncos lose and the Chargers win, so that they play for the division next weekend, and in order to maximize ratings, CBS keeps the Jets and Dolphins at one. Oh, and may the Eagles absolutely destroy the Redskins. Smile upon me, oh powerful Gods of flex. In your infinite search for ratings, may you offer me the football Sunday of a lifetime, and I shall spread your word throughout the land. (Editor’s note: Or at least to the 17 people who frequent this site).

The Greek God of NFL flex scheduling would be shown, but he didn't like the meeting's time slot

The Greek God of NFL flex scheduling would be shown, but the meeting's time slot didn't work for him.

In the flex I must trust.

Amen.

2 Comments

Filed under Eagles, NFL

2 responses to “Fear the flex schedule: Determining when the Eagles will play the Cowboys next week, and why The Pundit is agonizing over it…

  1. I hope they do it. If they keep it at 1, then I will miss the game (in transit from O-hi-ho) and I won’t be able to live blog the game. If I am not mistaken (and correct me if I am wrong), there is no game scheduled for that Sunday night; they leave it open automatically for some flexed game.

    I agree – in the flex must we trust.

  2. Pingback: 10-3 Redskins. Unbelievable. The Pundit is BOILING as he attempts to do Game Notes « The Pattison Pundit

Leave a Reply

