At this point, The Pundit is just confused – Evaluating the Eagles win over the Cardinals

I made a mistake last week – I let my emotions get the best of me. I had said that I would spend the rest of the season evaluating Andy Reid in an earlier post, and then I sold him out last week. I was upset, you know? (Editor’s note: I just wish I knew which Pundit I was going to get from day to day…it’s so taxing!) I still don’t understand the McNabb benching, or much of the playcalling, but I threw in the towel earlier than I should have. I won’t overreact like that again, I promise.

Which means you won’t see me doing any jumping jacks after the Eagles dominant performance against the Cardinals.

Yes,  McNabb looked sharp, and Westbrook seemed to have an extra bounce in his hobbled step. The defense played really well, disrupting Kurt Warner’s timing and pounding the receivers every time a ball was thrown their way. I mean, I don’t know what was going on with Anquan Boldin, but he was like a bad cell phone plan, except he was dropping balls (Editor’s note: Oh God, that was just so lame. Besides, isn’t he a little bit old for that?) Great, great gameplan drawn up by Jim Johnson.

Oh, and Andy Reid called a balanced game. They actually…gasp…established a running game. I repeat: they established a running game. Hold on, hold on, did you happen to catch that? Hmm? Alright, one last time:

THEY ESTABLISHED A RUNNING GAME!

Ahhhhhh, that felt good. Gotta say, I like Kyle Eckel. I don’t foresee him as much more than a short-yardage, straight-up-the-gut runner, but honestly, that’s all we need him to be. Westbrook and Buckhalter, when he comes back, are perfectly capable of handling the rest of the running duties. And it was a revelation to watch McNabb scramble out of the pocket – when he uses his legs, even if it is only for a small chunk of yardage, the Eagles offense is nearly indefensible. They looked good in every phase of their game: they ran the ball successfully, McNabb was accurate from the 1st quarter to the 4th, he scrambled when he needed to, the tight ends were involved in the offense, the offensive line dominated the line of scrimmage, and the wideouts made plays with the ball after the catch.

Speaking of catches, here’s the biggest one of the night: they did all of this against a mediocre Cardinal’s defense.

I mean, honestly, as you watched, were you excited by this performance? Or, like me, were you convinced that this was a beautiful game that likely couldn’t be repeated against the NFC East teams? (Editor’s note: Why you always gotta be hatin’, homeboy?) Because if they are able to play the three phases against those teams like they did tonight, they are capable, unlikely as it may seem, of running the table. But what Eagles team will show up? To me, that’s the theme of this season, and I think it is still a reflection of the coach and QB: when the playcalling is on point, and the QB is accurate and using his legs, this team is one of the best teams in the NFL. (Editor’s note: To be fair, a banged-up Westbrook has affected this offense as well. But that’s as much slack for the Birds as you’ll get from me). Seriously, when the Eagles are on point, they are as good as anyone in this league. But when they aren’t clicking, they are a subpar team on the field, and an infuriating team to watch. The type of team that will be playing golf in a month.

So I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Who are you, Eagles? Who who, who who? Because I would really, really like to friggin’ know.

(*Just thought of this: the guy played a good game, but why is Joselio Hanson starting ahead of Lito Sheppard? Is he hurt? Or are Lito’s Philly days numbered? Food for thought…)

1 Comment

Filed under Eagles, NFL

One response to “At this point, The Pundit is just confused – Evaluating the Eagles win over the Cardinals

  1. Nanners

    Pundit fans, you haven’t fully experienced the P P until you’ve shared a rec room with him during a game like this (editor’s note: be sure to give him space). Hopefully his heart will remain strong for a very long time, or the emotion of the games he’s drawn to like a growing boy to a roast beef dinner will do him in. Meanwhile, we could add another ‘P’ – and call him the f’ing Passionate Pattison Pundit.

Leave a Reply

